Special Request

I’ve written about my greatgrandmother, Nanny, before. She is my biggest hero, the one soulmate of everyone in my family, the one lynch pin in the universe.

image

Nanny and me at her 107 birthday party

She is 107 1/2. In some ways, she is eternal. Her age is impressive, but steady: she has always been simply “very old” to me. I know she is aging. There are at least seven times a day that I am reminded that time is limited. One of my deepest fears is that she will be gone before I have done anything to make her proud. I mean, after the outstanding life she has led, how does this fool get to claim her?

Today, my mother told me that Nanny has asked me to write her life story.

selah.

Me.

I cannot help but accept the offer, but holy buckets I am terrified, humbled, honored, and otherwise inadequate. I recently told a friend that I had occasionally thought about writing some kind of book, but that I wouldn’t know where to start. I am not at all the kind of person who is bursting with stories to tell.

Except for her stories. She is a wonderful storyteller, and I have memorized her greatest hits, and have told them myself. I know there are thousands more I haven’t heard. To hear those stories, the ones she hasn’t told anyone, leaves me speechless.

I’m going to do it. In a million lifetimes, I couldn’t say no.

But oh my God, I’m not sure if I’m worthy of it.

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on May 9, 2015, in Family, On Being a Woman and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

