Wish I May…

When I drove home half an hour ago, there was no star to wish upon, despite the clear sky. No stars were visible because the sun was nearly to the horizon, making the sky bright enough that the night stars were hidden but I couldn’t quite see the sun yet, either. I drove home somewhat hurriedly because I was hoping to see my dad before he left for work. My dad is a pretty big guy at 6’9″ (2.05m), so I still feel like a kid when I hug him.

I needed a “dad hug” today. I left for work at 2:30 yesterday afternoon after a solidly miserable workout at the gym that left me feeling every muscle in my hips and thighs. I wasn’t able to take any kind of break all night, so I was looking forward to going home and putting my feet up after I got off at 11. Through a series of totally crappy circumstances, I didn’t get off at 11. I ended up having to work a surprise double shift. Third shift is a lot more cleaning and a lot more solitude than other shifts, and by the end, I was awake but completely worn out.

Fourteen and a half hours on my feet with the exception of two bathroom breaks left my already sore legs almost numb. In fact, I realized while driving home that I couldn’t really feel my feet as well as I usually do. They just hurt. As did my knees. And my finger, where I cut it on a cappuccino machine, and my pinky, where I pinched it in a heavy metal hinge and gave myself a very painful, deep bruise- I’m twice as clumsy when I’m tired.

Driving home, I knew that if I managed to catch him, I would feel better. Less stressed. I could say to someone “I’m tired and sore and it sucks that I had to work 14+ hours with zero break,” and in true Dad fashion, he’d hug me back and agree that it sucks, then send me to bed.

I didn’t make it home before he was gone for work. The house was dark and there was nothing but a dirty cereal bowl next to an empty Wheaties box. I wish I’d made it home in time. Since I’m just now about to try to sleep, I may sleep though his midday break and be gone at work again before he is home from work, so may not see him at all today. That kinda blows.

I really wish I’d made it home a little earlier.

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on April 30, 2015, in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

