Time is a Thin Veil

Time is a thin veil
that hangs between me and
my memories,

but if I close my
eyes and hold my breath,
it is thinner.

The November ocean
numbs and foams around my
feet and the peach

sky sets slowly
while dolphins play in
distant waves.

Brown shag carpet
under my legs while I eat
lemon drops,

my grandmother’s voice
telling me stories that I’ll too
soon forget.

The scent on his skin
when he moved in closer,
taking my face

in his hands,
so familiar, exciting, and
heartbreaking.

If I just stop,
still, hold my breath and close
my eyes, I

am
so
nearly
there

again.

But my eyes
cannot stay shut, nor my ears
strain to hear

the voices and
sighs and train whistles of
time gone by.

Time is an
impermeable veil, with new
oceans to

wade, stories to
live, and lips to kiss, and
I can’t wait.

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on March 24, 2015, in On Being a Woman, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

