About Face

It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad. ~ C. S. Lewis

image

Left: me, yesterday; Right: me, June 1013

Life has felt stagnant because change has been harder and slower than my impatient self would like to admit. Yesterday, a friend posted a silly image that said “Don’t let anyone treat you like a yellow Starburst. You are a pink Starburst.” For some reason, that pithy line resonated. I had a few minutes before I was to start work and I used my phone as a mirror to put on my lip stain.

I barely recognized the face I saw. I’ve lost so much weight, changed so much, that I don’t look like the same person anymore. I’m not the same person anymore.

I’m good with that. I like this face better.

*Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/c/cslewis131286.html#oyWYmkg0YKWiuZKU.99

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on February 14, 2015, in On Being a Woman and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How much have you lost? You’re looking good!
    I lost 73 pounds with Gods help.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    • 73 pounds as well! Still more to go, but bring patient with myself. I started unintentionally losing in October 2013, it became intentional in January 2014, and I am getting back into it again. I wasn’t working from November – January, so I managed to maintain, but not lose without having a gym membership.

Leave a Reply

