Cool by Association

Ohmigosh, you guys. And girls.

The Bloggess commented on my blog this morning. Not this blog, my other blog.

My favorite blog on the whole internet.

My favorite blog on the whole internet.

I’ve gotten comments on the blog before, but really, nothing has made me so excited.

Because The Bloggess, otherwise known as Jenny Lawson, is my favorite blogger in the whole internet. She is weird, funny, honest, brave, and a kind of cool I could never, ever be. Her blogs are sometimes random, like when she is debating whether conjoined Popsicles should be considered one Popsicle (because they’re seamlessly together) or two Popsicles (since there are two sticks, and you generally eat them by breaking them apart). Sometimes, they’re serious, like when she writes about depression, anxiety, or other real life stresses. She also wrote a really, really funny book.

Oh my funny! Get it. Read it. She's like the best friend you wish you had.

Oh my funny! Get it. Read it. She’s like the best friend you wish you had.

I also follow her on Twitter, and yesterday, when I posted a photo of a box of raccoon penis bones for sale at a flea market, I put the link on Twitter, too. Jenny has a well-known affinity for strange taxidermy, and on a whim, I tagged her in my tweet.

I wasn’t confident that she’d click on the link. In fact, I was pretty sure that she wouldn’t. But she did. And then she commented on it!

SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know that the cool thing to do is to just be like “eh, whatever.” I don’t have to be cool, though – I couldn’t be cool if I tried. Instead, I will embrace the geeky excitement and do my internal happy dance because this morning, The Bloggess commented on my raccoon penis blog.

And that is the closest to cool I’ll ever get.

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on August 26, 2014, in Geekery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

