Time-Traveling

article-2246910-1676078C000005DC-885_634x421

The awful
……………. sun
blazes off of the endless surface
……………………of snow
and I am convinced
that the frequent furrows
it causes will
……………..settle
…………………….. in,
confirming the white hair that seemed to
……………………………………………………come from nowhere.
And I trudge on, unable
to distinguish the crunching
snow from the creaks! and pops!
of bones that surely cannot be
…………………………………………old enough
………………………to make that sound.
………………/but/
when the streetlamps cast
a blue edge around
the inside of my curtains, my
brow slackens and my hair
……….l
…………a
…………..y
…………….s

………………..l
………………….o
……………………o
……………………..s
……………………….e,

my eyes remember the slant
of your smile and
my cheek knows the tremble
……..of your hand
…………..as it
brushed behind my ear when you
whispered an apology for the
sweet smell
of coffee on your breath
and
I
am
eighteen
again.

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on February 1, 2014, in Growing Up, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

