Deuteronomy Speaks to Anxiety

Shema

Listen, My girl. Hear My voice.
Not the endless list of things you have forgotten or intend to do.
Not to the unopened emails that haunt you,
I have something to tell you.
Listen. Hear Me.
Do not drown out the self-doubt with Blue Oyster Cult turned up as loud as it will go.
Do not retreat into a De Falla composition, following its drama to another place.
I have words for you now.

Yisra’el

Oh yes, we have battled, you and I.
Your incessant desire for more wisdom has not been easy, and you are still not satisfied because you to not feel you have achieved it.
When your impatience for justice and understanding cannot reconcile with My timing.
We will no doubt battle again and again, you stubborn woman, but I will not give up the fight because I love you.
I will win, not by defeating or crushing you, but by bringing victory when you face battles.

Adonai

I am.
I am love.
I am mercy.
I am grace and peace, a fortress, a shelter.
I am life itself.

Eloheinu

I am yours. We are in this together, you and I.
I am Mystery and Unfathomable, but I am not unknown to you.
I want you to call on Me, to seek Me.
I called you, specifically, because I have chosen you.
Not in spite of knowing you completely, but because I know you completely.

Adonai

I am.
Stop and consider Me.
Remember how much you love to worship Me when you let your walls down.
See the foot of the throne where you have knelt, wept, prayed, sang, and felt My presence.
Repeat after me: I am loved. Say it again.

Echad

I am unity.
I am constant, never-changing.
I am the One who shielded you from harm in the accident.
I am the One who counted your tears in the ICU and the PICU.
I am the One who laughs when your joy overflows when you are with the kids.
I am the One who loved you, loves you, and will love you.
I am the One who knows the adventures ahead of you.
I am all things good and Holy.
I will continue to be. You need not fear what is in store.

You need only to hear Me. To listen to Me. To allow My voice to be your road map.

Shema, my girl, for I have great things to tell you.

About BearsGrl8

I'm a geek, a "Supernatural" fangirl, a progressive, an introverted loud-mouth, a damn fine cook, a Bears fan, a Blackhawks fan, and a fantastic aunt.

Posted on November 1, 2013, in Anxiety, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for expressing this in such a beautiful way.

    • Thanks! The Hebrew is Deuteronomy 6:4, the verse that has sustained me since I first heard it sung in 2008. I have it tattooed on the inside of my right wrist. As many times as I’ve read or sung it, I still feel like I’m still learning more about what it means.

Leave a Reply

